Mantra, tantra’s and chakra’s.


A mantra is a sacred utterance, a numinous sound, a syllable, word or phonemes, or group of words in Sanskrit, Pali and other languages believed to have religious, magical or spiritual powers.

While the mantra Om Mani Padme Hum, is a Buddhist Mantra written in Tibetan Script with Mandala Style.

The earliest mantras were composed in Vedic Sanskrit in India and are at least 3500 years old.

At its simplest, the word ॐ (Aum, Om) serves as a mantra, it is believed to be the first sound which was originated on earth. Aum sound when produced creates a reverberation in the body which helps the body and mind to be calm.

In more sophisticated forms, mantras are melodic phrases with spiritual interpretations such as a human longing for truth, reality, light, immortality, peace, love, knowledge, and action.

Some mantras without literal meaning are musically uplifting and spiritually meaningful.

In Japanese Shingon tradition, the word Shingon means mantra.

While within Zoroastrianism,Taoism, Christianity, and other spiritual traditions, similar hymns, antiphons, chants, compositions, and concepts are observed.

Within the school of tantra, mantras are considered to be of sacred origin and formula, as they are considered deeply personal rituals, effective only after initiation.

Wheras in Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism or Sikhism, the practioner is not required to be initiated before perfing.

Mantras and chakras.

The word Chakra derives its origin from the Sanskrit language as it has a meaning likened to that of a wheel within the ancient India languages.

Chakras were used as various forms of energy. It is the focal point of the human body used in meditation practice.

The human body has 7 main chakras wherby they can be activated by mantras and meditation.

Each chakra has its own mantras and mudras. While the right mantras and mudras need to be employed to open the chakras. But first it must be known what a chakra is and how it works.

What are Chakras?

The human body has 7 main energy centers. These major energy centers are called chakras. Chakras run from head to the bottom of the spine.

The 7 main chakras are:

  • Mooladhara Chakra – The Root Chakra.
  • Swadhisthana Chakra – The Sacral Chakra.
  • Manipura Chakra – The Solar Plexus Chakra.
  • Anahata Chakra – The Heart Chakra.
  • Vishuddhi Chakra – The Throat Chakra.
  • Ajna Chakra – The Third Eye Chakra.
  • Sahasrara Chakra – The Crown Chakra.

Knowing how to chant mantras to activate chakras?

To activate your chakras mantras must be chanted correctly. To chant the mantras for each chakras use your natural voice, do not chant mantras in high or low pitch.

Examples of mantras and their seed sounds.

Root Chakra – Chant ‘LAM’

Chant ‘LAM’ for the Root Chakra. This chakra opens up your prosperity, belongings, and feeling of security. If you feel low energy then you can chant the ‘LAM’ mantra.

Sacral Chakra – Chant ‘VAM’

VAM is a cleansing mantra for sacral chakra. This chakra is related to sexuality, sensuality, and desire for pleasure. Chant ‘VAM’ to open up this chakra.

Solar Plexus Chakra – Chant ‘RAM’

This chakra allows you to control your destiny and feel powerful. Chant ‘RAM’ mantra to open this chakra. You can control your destiny by this chakra.

Heart Chakra – Chant ‘YAM’

Heart chakra is associated with love. If you are not feeling loving or experiencing difficulties in your relationship you should chant the ‘YAM’ mantra.

Throat Chakra – Chant ‘HAM’

This chakra is related to your physical and spiritual voice. Chanting mantras and breathing exercises can enhance the power of this chakra.

Third eye chakra – Chant ‘OM or AUM’

This chakra lies in the center of your forehead. Chant OM or AUM mantra to open up this chakra. Third eye chakra is associated with awareness and guidance.

Crown chakra – Chant OM or AH

Crown chakra is related to the spiritual connection. This chakra is located little above the top of your head.

Note how the seed sounds chanted for each chakra have the tone AM or MA inserted into them.

Perhaps referring to the third tone within our solfeggio scale, the third chakra, the solar system and the dawn or morning, as In A.M.

Crown, Third eye – AUM, OM.

Throat Ham.

Heart – Yam.

Solar plexus – Ram.

Sacre – Vam.

Root – Lam.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s